top of page
  • Writer's picturebobbilynnnorman

morning dependency

you kiss me on the cheek

we commerce with mumbles

of “have a good day”

you hand me a stuffed animal

in exchange for your absence

& even in our worst days

we did this

before the sun rose

& just like that

you were off to work

grief occupied me

& safety was left vacant

as your warmth fell away

somewhere in the east my co-dependency speaks

on by behalf

“well, what do I do, NOW?”

maybe if he just lingers here

a little longer

I’ll feel

just a little better

because the sun never rises

on my end of the town

when you’re not around

& I can’t help

but ruminate

on how I got to this point

of non-existence

how I haven’t even ascended an arm

in months

or even a year how I have become

quarter human

heavy &

copper that has rusted

face down

a boy at the cafe

tells me that he

he does not recognize me

he jokes that

I am a ghost

& I am not jolted by this

as I scurry below the belt

weaving in & out

of anyone that will

make me theirs

sweep me to the sky

in the clouds, I depart

awaiting in the shadows

anticipating impatiently

for my morning kiss




72 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page