top of page
  • Writer's picturebobbilynnnorman

the one that lead me all the way down to the rainbow without a pot of gold

Updated: Sep 22, 2021

in the days

I don’t feel so lucky

I look for you

In the aftermath

of my all of my added doubts

I count to ten

Backwards

Hoping

I’ll finally catch a breath

At zero

And maybe

Get the chance

To start this life over

Maybe with you

Playing a different

Character, in this time

Every morning

I snooze my alarm

Exactly 5 times

Before I decide to

Roll my heavy eyes

Body

Dice

Out of bed

And take a chance

On living again

Sometimes it not so easy

Never knowing

What side of the bed

You’ll wake up on

Or how many lottery

Tickets will fall gently

On your lap

Soaking up the

Next generation

Of karma

Dance & good fortune

But not being able

To hold it

Tightly enough

For it to stick

The cat looks at me

And laughs and I laugh

And cry back,

“hey wait up”

I need nine more lives

To try to keep up

To my rage

Yeah, I refuse to give up

But fuck-

Sometimes my limbs

Are glued to the bed

& I’d rather stay hungry

Then have to deal

With another piled dish

Adulting has

Been hard without you in it

And I’ve never once

Have had the space to

Even admit it

I once pulled a card

That told me

That I should talk to my father

About the moon again

But I did

And all he did was

Dream about another

Tree house that he will

Never build

My father was a dreamer, yeah

But also a liar

And his

Lack of dependability

Lead me

Counting back from ten

All the way

Down to zero again

When I feel not so lucky

I also think of him

This way- as the joker

The fool

The one that lead

Me all the way down the rainbow

Without a pot of gold

More like more men

That left me hanging

By a thread

Stitched

Into my veins

“This is it, Bobbi

This is all you’ll ever get”

Convoluted sound

Ringing from their mouths

Moving swiftly in and out

Sawing my confidence

In quarters

So they can swallow me whole

And take credit

For my earnings

I don’t expect

To cash out stars

Or find boys

That aren’t from Mars

But I do want to feel

The strain of luck

seeping through

My pores

So my palms can hold

A place called home

Without you in it

And maybe count

To ten

Onward

Forward

And

Push my luck

To number

11.


42 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page