top of page
  • Writer's picturebobbilynnnorman

all the rage between us: a time loop

what would I be

without the remanence

of your kisses

down my spine


there i'd be-

all jelly, no forest fire

just holding on

to my own idled hand


sawdust of yesterday's

belongings and toiletries


I don't. just not to remember

myself-

"sixty-seven years gone by",

they'll say


still looking for

his face

in the all the white pages

and timeless treasuries


right now:

what am I if not

rooted up by my rage


a claw picking me up

for a one dollar stuffed animal


a make-shift dinosaur

with only one quarter

left to spare


although justified

in my crown of thorns

will it matter

twenty years from now?


It has been....five years and

it appears that I am still angry


and my ribs feel

impossibly heavy

from the kisses you

forgot to give back


it does not matter much

five years or three milestones

if the world keeps twirling


but I adhere to

the frozenness of

your deception


what will I be without

waiting for the chime

of a text


a wavering charm

lingering at my feet


what will I stumble to

when you are gone



what will my story be then


all cobblestone

broken brick sidewalks

to net in all my mistakes


stricken by panic

of what I will become

if you are no more,

my saving grace


like c'mon

what if your friends don't like me anymore??

what if my story leads me no where

but down


paving my own path

feels daunting

a punchline

waiting to reveal itself full


in the only truth I know

for now-


it is fucking hard


this is fucking hard


and my envy of your

life blossoming out

without me


leaves me breathless

and all volcano heartbeat!


another pill to swallow:

another plane to catch


i hope you find me there

sixty-five and waiting

for another round trip


another round about

merry-go-round

tongue split


i hope the news

will know of it

grapevine gossip machines

running the street of market:


***

yeah ,

i hope they know



of all the rage between us




217 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page